FIA GT Series

Qualifying 1
All cars driven by nominated Driver 1 on the entry list will be permitted on the track for 15mins.
There will be a 5mins gap between Q1 and Q2.

Qualifying 2
All cars driven by Driver 2 on the entry list will be permitted on the track for 15mins.
The fastest time set by each car in either Q1 or Q2 will be considered as its provisional qualifying time. The cars setting the ten fastest times will proceed to the Superpole session and their lap times will be deleted.

The ten cars qualified for the Superpole will start in reverse order of their fastest times from the combined Q1 and Q2 sessions. A car that does not report for the start of the Superpole session, will be classified in the final position of the Superpole. If more than one car does not take part in the Superpole qualifying session, the fastest time set in Q1 or Q2 will determine the order between any such cars in the final positions of the Superpole.

The races
The starting grid for the Qualifying Race (60mins) will be formed by the top ten positions from Superpole.

Any car eligible for Superpole that does not complete a timed lap will be placed in 10th position. If 2 or more cars fail to complete a timed lap in the Superpole, they will be placed following the same principle, according to their relative positions in Q1 or Q2. The remaining cars will be classified according to the fastest time set by each car in either Q1 or Q2. Any car that does not complete a timed lap in qualifying will be placed in last position. The grid of the Main Race will be drawn up in the order of the classification of the Qualifying Race.

After the Superpole, both drivers and the team of the car setting the fastest time in each category will be awarded one point. Should a category not take part in the Superpole, the car in that category setting the fastest time in the combined times from Q1 and Q2 will be awarded one point.

Fastest drivers in each class will be given one point each.


Qualifying Race

1st: 8 points
2nd: 6 points
3rd: 4 points
4th: 3 points
5th: 2 points
6th: 1 point

Main Race
1st: 25 points
2nd: 18 points
3rd: 15 points
4th: 12 points
5th: 10 points
6th: 8 points
7th: 6 points
8th: 4 points
9th: 2 points
10th: 1 point

One single official classification of the Event will be drawn up. The Event classification will be based on the results of the Main Race.

2013 Pit Stop Challenge

It won’t just be the on-track battles that catch the eye in the 2013 FIA GT Series. Rivalries will be just as fierce in the pit lane this year, after the announcement today that an official ‘Pit Stop Challenge’ competition will commence from the first round at Nogaro.

Each entry that races in the FIA GT Series will take part in the ‘against the stop-watch’ contest. Both the ‘Qualifying’ and ‘Main’ race pit stops will be combined at each event and the least time spent from pit-entry to pit-exit will win €2000. This will be presented immediately before the podium ceremonies, after each FIA GT Series ‘Main’ race.

Rewarding speed, dexterity and synchronization, the Pit Stop Challenge will test the highly skilled FIA GT Series teams. They will have to change their Pirelli tyres and install their driver at the mandatory pit stops. Adding plenty of spice to the teamwork in the pit lane will be a points table. The top ten fastest of the combined pit stops at each event will receive points to the standard 25-18-15-12-10,etc scale. A special Trophy will be awarded to the ‘pit stop kings’ at the end of the season.

Speaking about the initiative, founder and CEO of SRO Motorsports Group, Stephane Ratel said: "The competitive instinct runs through everyone involved in motorsport. Rewarding the hard working crews of the teams for their skill and organisation will add an interesting extra element to our events this season. I am sure that the rivalries in the pit lanes will be just as intense as those between the drivers in the cockpit."

Unrestricted pit stops are the an exciting and distinguishing feature of the FIA GT Series, unlike most national GT sprint series where a set minimum time is given.


• All entered cars in the FIA GT Series will take part
• The two pit stop times for each car are added.
• Only pit stops with tyre change and driver change, taking place during the window
of 25 – 35
minutes, are counted towards the total time
• A car which does not complete a stop will receive a statutory time
• A pit stop which later receives a penalty will also be given a statutory time
• The lowest combined time over the race weekend will win the Pit Stop Challenge
for that event.
• A mechanic from the car in question will receive the prize cheque for the event

The calendar for the 2013 FIA GT Series is as follows:

1st April: Nogaro, France
21st April: Zolder, Belgium
7th July: Zandvoort, Netherlands
18th August: Slovakia Ring, Slovakia
13th October: Navarra, Spain
22-24th November: Baku, Azerbaijan

Hall of Fame
The Champions..→
More... →
Sporting Regulations
More... →
Official Partners